drew.blog

faith | fun | culture | family | politics | music

If you made an album, what would it sound like?

Funny how something as insignificant as Billy Joel’s “The Longest Time” coming on my Pandora is enough to spark a blog post, but it reminded me of a conversation Drea and I had yesterday, so here goes.

Also, this takes place as I’m inhaling a double cheeseburger and 25ยข Frosty at Wendy’s in Upper Marlboro…

Her question: If you wrote/produced an album, what would it sound like?

I think it’d be fun to make a really avant-garde, genre-eluding album — a mosaic of bluegrass, hip-hop, jazz, and styles from the global East and South, all thrown together. But I feel like that’s almost a cop-out answer. (“My album? It would sound like everything.”)

For the sake of my imaginary album being tied together with at least a dental floss-sized strand of musical cohesion, I think I’d pick the folk genre. As far as artist comparisons, my ideal “feel” would be a Bob Dylan/Billy Joel/Elton John/James Taylor/Derek Webb/Andrew Osenga smorgasbord. Simple but robust melodies, lyrics that tell stories and invite reflection. (This of course postulates that I could write half as good as song as these guys — a ridiculous assumption.)

What about you? If you made an album, what would it sound like?

Filed under: Music

6 Responses

  1. sarah says:

    such a hard question drew haha you know i think about that often! well i’ve already made a couple worship albums so it would either be that or folk as well. pretty much since guitar is the only thing i play right now. folk seems like the right answer, plus i love it ๐Ÿ™‚ so i’m with you on that one!

  2. Kim J. says:

    OK, confession time–I think Bob Dylan is overrated (I know, I know…I just committed music-blasphemy). I can’t help it!

    My album would have a lot of piano (think The Fray, Keane, Jewel, Augustana and Coldplay) and songs would be shorter (2-4 minutes–I think November Rain by GNR and Stairway to Heaven were beautiful but much too long). I love allegoric lyrics and appreciate some harmony, but am not averse to a simple tune with positive lyrics or a simple story (think The Beatles, Jewel, Norah Jones, ).

    • Drew says:

      Ah! You and Tom are the same! I keep trying to get him into Bob Dylan; my efforts have yielded nothing, Tom’s ridicule of my musical tastes notwithstanding. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh well, I’m with you on the piano. I’ve always loved Coldplay and have recently gotten into some of Keane’s stuff. Allegoric lyrics – good call!

  3. janaiha says:

    haha. i like the genre-eluding concept…
    …i would want it to be instrumentally busy yet sort of muted like sufjan… witty and eccentric like the decemberists…. with a touch of lauryn’s depth and energy in there somewhere… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Drew says:

      Nice. I love me some Sufjan, man. Lauryn’s “Killing Me Softly” might be the best hip-hop cover I’ve ever heard.

      • Kim J. says:

        The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill was a great album. Love “Zion” and “Nothing Even Matters.”

Leave a Reply

