drew.blog

faith | fun | culture | family | politics | music

She’s true, like ice, like fire.

People, my wife is the bomb. Marrying Drea was best decision of my life. (Hopefully marrying me was the best decision of hers – I have my doubts sometimes.) In the time since we got married, I’ve progressively discovered more and more things I love and appreciate about her.

This week, I’ve been particularly grateful for her counsel. Drea knows me better than anyone, and has a keen ability to tell me what I need to hear at any given time. Whether it’s to encourage or to correct, I can consistently count on her to speak the truth in love. In providing counsel, she is never judgmental, never pompous, never patronizing. Her use of rebuke and correction is cautious and well-intentioned, stemming from a desire to see greater sanctification in my life. These verses remind me of her…

An excellent wife who can find?
   She is far more precious than jewels.
The heart of her husband trusts in her,
   and he will have no lack of gain.
She does him good, and not harm,
   all the days of her life.
Strength and dignity are her clothing,
   and she laughs at the time to come.
She opens her mouth with wisdom,
   and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

– Proverbs 31: 10-12, 25-26

This doesn’t even begin to cover everything I love and appreciate about Drea. I could go on about her friendship, her intelligence, her upbeat disposition, the perfect blend of smart, sexy, and silly that distinguishes her. But for now, I’m just grateful for the undeserved blessing of a wise and humble wife.

My love, she speaks like silence,
Without ideals or violence,
She doesn’t have to say she’s faithful,
Yet she’s true, like ice, like fire.

– Bob Dylan, “Love Minus Zero/No Limit”

Filed under: Marriage

2 Responses

  1. janaiha says:

    best. post. ever.

  2. tavi says:

    Greetings

    I was searching the lyrics to Love Minus Zero on the internet and I´ve found your blog.
    As I read this post, I was touched by the way you write about your wife. By the kind of person she is. And that you cared enough to write it about her.
    Best wishes to you both!

    kelly (tavi)

Leave a Reply

