drew.blog

faith | fun | culture | family | politics | music

O, Canada!

For those who are unaware, I have a road trip addiction. To me, there’s no better vacation than a week or two on the open road, preferably somewhere far away. I get a certain thrill out of plotting a route on a map and taking it, hoping for the best.

So naturally, after our epic road trip out west last summer, another one is in the works for this summer. We’ll be taking our beloved Prius up to Canada, ya know, to get “oat and aboat”. Should be fun, eh? *Insert other lame overused Canada joke.* We plan to spend some time at Niagara Falls, maybe tour a few Ontario wineries, visit Toronto, and eventually make our way over to Quebec to experience some quasi-French culture. I hear Montreal is the closest thing to Paris on this side of the Atlantic (except without all the snootiness.) So I’m psyched.

In the meantime, I’ll be practicing my verbal slaughtering of the French language. According to Trip Advisor, the Québécois appreciate it when tourists attempt to speak French, even if the end result is as atrocious as my efforts will certainly be. I have a cursory ability to communicate in Spanish, assuming it’s always the present tense and everybody is “I”. But I’m useless when it comes to French. I’m not exaggerating when I say the total sum of my experience with the language comes from Home Alone. “Kevin, you’re what the French call les incompetents.”

Step aside, Kevin. The Ackermanns are coming to Quebec.

Filed under: Travel,

One Response

  1. Bless this highly nutritious microwavable macaroni and cheese dinner and the people who sold it on sale. Amen.

    I’m excited for your Canada trip!

Leave a Reply

